Books and Food

Ever since my wonderful great-aunt gave me the “Pooh cookbook” when I was a teenager, I have been aware of the role food plays in some of my favourite books. From making raspberry cordial (Anne of Green Gables) to trying endlessly to master Turkish delight (from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe), to lembas bread (from The Lord of the Rings) the food these characters consumed is a part of the experience of the book.

I stumbled across The Ardent Biblio last week and their Persuasion afternoon tea. It looked beautiful.  Persuasion is one of my favourite Jane Austen books and I was transported with them to a magical time where ladies wore magnificent gowns, and a look was the talk of the day. It was a wonderful escape.

My view today is less beautiful! But maybe there is time for elevenses or second breakfast.

IMG_0847

Have a good weekend friends.

Leave a comment