What I Learnt in April

  1. The declaration of Alma-Ata is a big deal in health promotion (which I am studying). But what I didn’t know is that Alma-Ata became Almaty and is the largest city in Kazakhstan. Kazakhstan is where the domestic apple tree originated. It seems strange to think that all apples can trace their family line back to trees in Kazakhstan, but it is just one of so many interesting facts I have learnt from Roger Deakin’s “Wildwood – a journey through trees“. You can read more about it here, from Atlas Obscura. Reading Deakin’s descriptions of this region of the world makes me want to pack a bag tomorrow and head off. It is always fantastic when work and reading collide. And if you are overwhelmed by all that is on your to-do list, this article from the BBC on how long and difficult it is for Kazakhstan to change its alphabet makes for a fascinating read.

 

Apple_orchard_in_Tasmania

[image source]

2. I saw a record (for me) 3 movies this month, and am convinced more than ever that the book is always better. Both ‘Wonder‘ and ‘Ready Player One‘ were books I loved last year for different reasons, and both films were disappointing in their portrayal of the complex character interactions that filled the books.  It shouldn’t be surprising, but, although both films were great and well done, they just weren’t as good as the book.

3. The Lady and the Unicorn tapestries are in NSW at the moment, and I was able to duck out and spend time with them. They are huge and beautiful, and the work is exquisite. So much detail and inspiration. Even weeks later I am left speechless by their beauty. Explore the website, the information is fascinating, and I learnt that dust isn’t just annoying to me, it destroys tapestries.

To sum it all up, I learnt that apple trees are from Kazakhstan, dust destroys tapestries and the book is always better – not a bad list.

 

 

 

Leave a comment