What I’m reading – July

I am still in the midst of Quicksilver – a doorstop of a book, that is turning out to be nothing like I thought it would be – historical fiction with Newton, The Royal Society, London, the colonies, and maths and science. It is an astonishing tale, 300 pages in, and I cannot say with any certainty that I know where it is going to go.

I read and loved “The Girl in the Tower” by Katherine Arden. I got some way into the book before realizing that it was book 2 in a series. While I am sure there is characterization that I missed, in terms of plot, I was able to follow along just fine, and there are explanations for what I assumed I missed in book 1. I really enjoyed it, a great winter read, set in the cold of Moscow in a fairytale time.

Finally this month I have been reading along with the Twitter reading group #TheReadingsofSaturn, reading Seabold’s “The Rings of Saturn“. This is unlike any other book I have read, part travelogue, part following Seabold as his thoughts take you down rabbit holes. These have included a Major George Le Strange, who left his entire fortune to his housekeeper who took meals with Le Strange but wasn’t allowed to talk, and the history of the herring. The text is interspersed with photos with no captions or comment. It is an interesting read, and I am glad that people smarter than me are able to help me make sense of this book.

Happy reading friends

Leave a comment