What I’m reading right now – May

I have just finished a couple of interesting reads that had been on my “to read” list for a while.

“The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion is from 2013, but I finally managed to track down a copy in the library, and read it almost without stopping for sleep. It was a fantastic quick read, great characters, and I just didn’t want it to end. The main character, Don Tillman is wired a bit differently from most of us, is strict to his schedules and routines, his efforts to find a partner are fun and well, definitely different. I am so glad I finally tracked this one down.

“How to stop time” by Matt Haig is a much newer book, out this year, about a man who has lived a long time. Lots of time jumps and interesting places and meetings have followed. The book jumps around a lot, but it is still pretty easy to follow. The concept is handled well, it just didn’t grab me.

“Goth Girl” by Chris Ridell, is a fantastic kids book, full of Ridell’s fabulous art and brilliant, bearly disguised 19th-century characters. I heard him say the book stemmed from a quote about Lord Byron – that he was mad, bad and dangerous to know. The quote is there in the book but twisted slightly. A fantastic fun read.

My current reading pile is small – “The Invisible Library” by Genevieve Cogman. I have only read a few pages of this one, but loved the premise, an organisation that collects books from different worlds, and involves doors into magical libraries. Sounds like my kind of book. And something very different for me Madonna King’s “Being 14”. I have not read a lot of parenting books, but having hit the teenage years… this one came highly recommended, it is well written and researched, and I am finding it helpful.

 

IMG_0868

 

Happy reading friends.

Leave a comment