Reading

For the last two weeks, I have been immersed in a world of health promotion. It has been really quite fun but has taken all my time. I am in the final days now and am looking forward to hanging out here again.

While I was supposed to be researching something else, I came across this question from Susannah Fullerton “Are you a Promiscuous Reader?” It is a great question, and my answer has changed over the years, and probably depends a great deal on what I am reading. When I am in the middle of an epic fantasy, I tend to devour it, carry it with me everywhere, and just enjoy every moment in that world. But other times, I have an old faithful in my handbag and a new read beside the bed. This year I have loved reading a chapter (or chunk of a chapter) from a non-fiction (like Wildwood: a journey through trees – can you tell how much I have loved this book), and a poem each night. Poetry is really new to me, and I only grabbed a book as part of my Modern Mrs. Darcy reading challenge. But I have really enjoyed the added depth and beauty of this form. I finished Robert Frost, and have started on a volume of Wordsworth.

What about you?

Leave a comment