I finished a quilt top

This week I finished a quilt top. I want to say I am slow at sewing (and maybe that is true too), but what is more true is that this quilt is something I have been working on for 4 months. What I love about assembling the top is that the steps are already broken down for you. Cut the pieces, sew them together (repeat – in this case 40 times), sew the blocks into strips, sew the strips together. While the whole is overwhelming, just focusing on one step at a time is helpful. Even more than that, Sewing up one block takes only a few minutes. Which means even on busy days I was able to sew one block while I waited for something else to start/finish. And after several months I have something that I think looks good, and when I get it finished will be practical (thank you William Morris for that criteria).

When so much has changed, and the world seems grim, even spending five minutes completing one block feels like a challenge, but over time it grows into something bigger. That reminder this week was encouraging.

I still have several steps to complete before I can call it a quilt, but they will get done. However long it takes.

IMG_2729.jpeg

 

I hope you have a happy and safe weekend wherever you are.

The pattern is from ‘Charm School – 18 quilts from 5 inch squares” by Vanessa Goertzen. The material was a bunch of scraps I had at home.

Leave a comment